+33 6 25 20 13 46

La Romanité

Discover la Romanité of the region !
Start with Nîmes first : its arenas are the best preserved in the Mediterranean basin. You will be amazed by the Maison Carrée (1st century, built for Auguste to the glory of his two grandsons), the best preserved Roman temple in the world, its Museum of Romanity opened in 2018, its small old streets and its jardins de la Fontaine .

Then go to Arles : you will appreciate the atmosphere of its streets , its arenas , its amphitheater and its museum which contains antique marvels. You will see, among others, a Roman barge of 31 meters long whose exit from the Rhone has been a scientific feat. And if you like photography : Arles is the cultural center of photography in France (international festival of Rencontres d'Arles , Réattu museum ...)

And of course, you can not miss the Pont du Gard : Roman aqueduct built in the first part of the 1st century. He brought water from the Eure valley to Nimes (50 km with a gradient of 2.5 cm per kilometer!). It is the highest aqueduct bridge in the Roman world. His visit remains unforgettable. You can even go under the Pont du Gard by canoe , for the bravest (8 km of river from Collias).

You are so close to Uzès that you are obliged to stop in this magnificent Cité classified as City of Art and History. The ancient site of the Fountain of the Eure and its exceptional mosaic relate you to Romanity. Then you make a leap in history to discover wonders that date back to the Middle Ages and following centuries: the Roman Church of Saint Geniès, the Cathedral Saint-Théodorit and its funny tower that resembles that of Pisa, its alleys , its places and markets ..

Pont du gard

+33 6 25 20 13 46

La Romanité

Découvrez la Romanité de la région !
Commencez tout d'abord par Nîmes : ses arènes sont les mieux conservées du bassin méditerranéen. Vous serez stupéfait par la Maison Carrée (1er siècle, édifié pour Auguste à la gloire de ses deux petit-fils), temple romain le mieux conservé au monde, son musée de la Romanité ouvert en 2018, ses petites rues anciennes et ses jardins de la fontaine.

Rendez-vous ensuite à Arles : vous apprécierez l'ambiance des ses rues, ses arènes, son amphithéâtre et son musée qui contient des merveilles antiques. Vous y verrez, entre autre, un chaland romain de 31 mètres de long dont la sortie du Rhône a été un exploit scientifique. Et si vous aimez la photo : Arles est le centre culturel de la photo en France (festival international des Rencontres d'Arles, musée Réattu...)

Et bien sûr, vous ne pouvez pas rater le Pont du Gard : aqueduc romain construit dans la première partie du 1er siècle. Il amenait l'eau de la vallée de l'Eure à Nîmes (50 km avec une déclivité de 2.5cm par kilomètre !!). C'est le plus haut pont-aqueduc du monde romain. Sa visite reste inoubliable. Vous pourrez même passer sous le Pont du Gard en canoë, pour les plus courageux (8 km de rivière depuis Collias).

Vous êtes si près d'Uzès que vous êtes obligé de vous arrêter dans cette magnifique Cité classée Ville d'Art et d'Histoire. Le site antique de la fontaine de l'Eure et son exceptionnelle mosaïque vous rattachent à la Romanité. Puis vous faites un bond dans l'histoire pour découvrir des merveilles qui datent du Moyen-Age et des siècles suivants : l'Eglise romane Saint Geniès, la Cathédrale Saint-Théodorit et sa drôle de tour qui ressemble à celle de Pise, ses ruelles, ses places et ses marchés...

Pont du gard